Max Richter – Sleep. The adult lulaby

I don’t know how many of you out there have heard of Max Richter, whose music has been featured in such films as Waltz with Bashir, Shutter Island and Prometheus but I am a massive fan of his. To me he is absolutely on the same level as Hans Zimmer, John Williams, Ennio Morricone and other people of that ilk. Richter’s music is always absolutely haunting and incredibly evocative. I don’t think anyone can match him on the levels of emotion his is able to produce consistently with his music.

Anyway, today I was very happy to come across his new album From Sleep which Richter has described as “my personal lullaby for a frenetic world.” I’m working my way through the album now but I can already say it is an absolutely magnificent piece of art. It’s not usual for an artist to want a listener to fall to sleep in the middle of their album, but that is Richter’s aim and he definitely succeeds. The music has a real calming affect and give a real sense of perspective to the audience.

Here’s one of the songs that I very much recommend you give a listen. Let me know what you make of it if you’re into classical music. Does it make you yawn?

This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

