Fallout 4: Becoming the Silver Shroud

I’ve played around 20 hours of Fallout 4 and not yet discovered that moment that goes down in legend. The finding a value full of Gary’s or a passionate talking tree. I’m really loving the game but I still felt I was missing that key moment. Well I’m glad to say I finally found that moment as I stepped into the shoes of the Silver Shroud

It all started when I made my way into a quaint little village called Goodneighbour. After almost being extorted and witnessing a brutal murder I found my way towards the ‘Memory Den’. You’ll go there for the excellent main quest ‘Dangerous Minds’ but if you happen to stray off the beaten path into a small room on the right hands side of the hall you might run into a delightful little ghoul fellow by the name of Kent Connolly.

Two things may strike you about Kent. 1. His love for the fictional superhero the Silver Shroud and 2. He appears to be somewhat “special”. His passion for the Silver Shroud immediately endeared Kent to me and I was more than happy to accept his request of me to go and fetch the legendary Silver Shroud costume from within the Dorito-encrusted depths of ‘Hubris Comics’. I rather naively felt this would be a quick fetch and deliver quest so I felt no anxiety in hopping on my merry way.

After fighting through a horde of garish ghouls and one very menacing glowing one I

Faithful Kent - look at him in his lovely suit and hat affair

Faithful Kent – look at him in his lovely suit and hat affair

retrieved the fabled costume and returned to wee Kent (Not before experimenting with the sights and sound of the stage I found in Hubris Comics. Boy was it a sight to behold).

Only upon talking to Kent did I realise that my support for him would not end there. To my horror I found myself agreeing to take up the mantle of the Silver Shroud and with my faithful companion Kent, assisting me by radio, I brought shift justice to the streets of Goodneighbour. Unfortunately this took the form of some brutal vigilante murders, which the comics never truly seem to portray.

For me and Kent this lead us down a very deep tunnel of mass murder unfitting of the name of the Silver Shroud. This eventually culminated in poor Kent’s kidnapping. I vowed that after my rescue of Kent I would never again put on this harrowed cape.

To my disappointment I wasn’t actually able to save poor Kent, as when I stormed into the room in which he was held, he was almost instantly ragdolled by a hail of bullets I could do little about. I did however proceed to take powerful revenge and a handy bit of looting before putting one of my most memorable moments in gaming behind me…

What has been your favourite Fallout 4 moment so far? Let me know in the comments down below

 

This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fallout 4: Becoming the Silver Shroud

  1. pine717 says:

    Interesting, thanks for the heads up. I found and completed Hubris Comics before going to the Memory Den. Was surprised by all the cool stuff there. Didn’t actually explore Memory Den all that well,so I’ll plan to go back and find this ghoul. Only read the first few paragraphs of your post since I don’t want to spoil the rest of the quest.

  2. steviegill says:

    I think my favourite moments in Fallout 4 are the teddy bears in comical poses that you find around the game world. Always bring a smile to face.

  3. atthematinee says:

    Interesting write-up! Thanks for sharing. šŸ™‚ Do you post on any gaming sites? I just came across your blog via a shout-out on Brad Murphy’s WordPress!

  4. atthematinee says:

    PS. We’re also branching out into gaming šŸ˜€

  5. littlewicksy says:

    I’ve yet to play Fallout 4, but I gave up avoiding spoilers a few days ago. I can’t wait to start finding things like this! Roll on Christmas day!

    Additionally, I also nominated you for a blogger recognition award thingy. Hope you don’t mind! http://littlewicksy.com/2015/11/26/blogger-recognition-reward/

  6. doddman24 says:

    You can save Kent if you have enough in Charisma. It’s worthwhile to save him because he’ll upgrade your Silver Shroud armor for free.

  7. Love the Silver Shroud quests! So much fun. One of my favourite parts of F4 (so far) was the quest with Paul Pembroke and Henry Cooke. Ahh… There’s just something about having hitmen spawn and try to kill you every time you enter Diamond City.

Leave a Reply

