Short Thoughts 5: Summertime, The Stand vs The Walking Dead and Broken Age

Everyone’s most hated blog series is back! In this instalment I do a mini review of Summertime by Vanessa Lafaye, explore the relationship between Stephen King’s The Stand and The Walking Dead and talk a little bit about my first impression of Double Fine’s Broken Age!

Summertime – Vanessa Lafaye

Summertime tells the story of a small Florida town and the tensions both in class and race, that bubble before the town is hit by a massive storm. What I like about Summertime is the pace of the novel, how you can feel it slowly build, matching the fears of the oncoming storm. The ending is incredibly emotionally draining and devastating and is absolutely compelling reading. There’s a lot of things going on in the novel and I don’t think Lafaye quite manages to keep a grip on it all, but ending alone really is special and for that reason it is very much recommended.

The Stand vs The Walking Dead

I’ve been reading Stephen King’s beast of a novel The Stand recently, to supplement my journey through The Dark Tower series. I wasn’t particularly looking forward to reading the novel, mainly due to its size (700+ pages) but I deemed it necessary. But to my surprise the novel is really easy, and yet gripping, reading. I also noticed a lot of similarities to one of my favourite comics and TV shows The Walking Dead. Both The Stand and The Walking Dead focus on survivors setting up a community in the aftermath of an apocalyptic event. There’s a lot of similar characters in both creations as well as similar themes and I wonder if Walking Dead creator Robert Kirkman was inspired at all by The Stand.

Broken Age

I’m usually not impressed by the PS Plus selection but in this month’s release is quite a gem. Double Fine’s (Pyschonauts, Brutal Legend, The Cave) Broken Age is very similar in play style to Lucas Arts Monkey Island series and is equally as funny. It also tells a very intriguing narrative, split between two main characters. Highly recommended, especially since it’s free.

That’s all for this week folks. What are your opinions on these topics? Let me know in the comments down below and leave a like if you’d be so kind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Short Thoughts 5: Summertime, The Stand vs The Walking Dead and Broken Age

  1. The Stand is my all time favourite novel, especially the extended version; I loved The Dark Tower series but it kind of lost its way from Wizard and Glass onwards, in my opinion – The Drawing of the Three and The Wastelands still rank up there, though. Have you ever read Alex Garland? The Beach is absolutely fantastic.

    • I read The Beach a couple of years ago and throughly enjoyed it. Far superior to the film I felt. I liked Garland’s work in 28 Days Later and Sunshine so I need to make an effort to read his other two novels.

    • I read The Beach a couple of years ago and throughly enjoyed it. Far superior to the film I felt. I liked Garland’s work in 28 Days Later and Sunshine so I need to make an effort to read his other two novels.

Leave a Reply

