10 books I’m reading next

I’m an avid reader. I take a book everywhere I go, I have a shelve full of read and unread books and I  get through a book probably every fortnight. I’m currently working my way through Stephen King’s The Stand which is a 700 page beast of a novel and I’m really enjoying it but even though the end is still far off, I’m already picturing my next reads. Here they are in no particular order:

10. The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor – Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga

I’m not usually for book adaptions of TV shows and games. I always feel like they are a bit hacked on and that creativity is limited by source material. But my The Walking Dead addiction has persuaded me to give this a go. I’m obsessed with the comics and the show and the Governor was one of my favourite characters, so I’m eager to see how the monster was created, so to speak. I’m also reassured by the fact that Robert Kirkman, creator of The Walking Dead is a co-author because then I feel like his vision is still being upheld.

9. The Outsiders – S.E. Hinton

I love a coming-of-age story. The Catcher in the Rye is my favourite novel of all time and I love films like Stand by Me. What also appeals about the book is that it was written by author S.E Hinton when she was between the ages of 15 – 18, so I would imagine that this gives a more genuine feel to the story.

8. Live by Night – Dennis Lehane

I’m a big fan of Dennis Lehane. I loved Shutter Island and it’s film adaption as well as the adaptions of Mystic River and Gone, Baby, Gone and so when I came across this novel I just had to pick it up.

7. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

It’s a classic novel that I’ve had for a long time but I’ve never got around to reading it. I think the length has put me off at times but after getting through The Stand I’m sure this will be a breeze.

6. The Hobbit – J.R.R Tolkien

I’m really surprised I haven’t read this yet. I tried reading The Lord of the Rings when I was around 12, but the language and length of the book became too much for me and I’ve never picked up the series again. Now I’m in my 20s I feel I’m much more prepared to clash with Tolkien again, especially with the more manageable The Hobbit. 

5. Go Set a Watchman – Harper Lee

I adore To Kill a Mockingbird but the controversy surrounding this sequel has put me off. I’ll read this because I feel like I have to know, it a compulsion, though I am apprehensive as to the quality.

4. The Trial – Franz Kafka

I read Franz Kafka’s The Metamorphosis last year and I was absolutely fascinated by his style and the worlds he created. So I’m very curious to pick up perhaps his best known work: The Trial

3. The Double – Fyodor Dostoyevsky

I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of doppelgängers. I watched Richard Ayoade’s production of The Double last year and found it brilliant. So I’m certainly going to seek out the novel. The world reminds me of Kafka, in that it has the same creepy, lonely and unsettling vibe about it.

2. The Martian – Andy Weir

I recently saw the trailer for the movie adaption of this and it really piqued my interest. Sci-fi will forever be my favourite genre and space travel is subject that captivates me.

1. Watership Down

After reading Animal Farm by George Orwell I definitely developed an interest in novels featuring anthropomorphised animals. I constantly come across this novel and the consequential film made, mainly for the heartbreak that is causes, so I am preparing myself for tears and great literature.

Have you read anything from this list? What’s next on your ‘to-read’ list? Let me know in the comments down below and leave a like if you would be so kind.

Thanks

 

This entry was posted in Novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 books I’m reading next

  1. Live by Night is terrific, Lehane’s Kenzie and Genarro series is also worth a look. The Hobbit, Watership Down and Catch 22 are also great reads. The Double is extremely underrated, although after Richatd Ayoade’s adaptation I’m hoping it gets more attention.

  2. merineliza says:

    I’ve been trying to read catch-22 too. It seems really cool!

Leave a Reply

