Graphic Novel Roundup: Marvels, Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Ms. Marvel

The series where I review the graphic novels I’ve read this week!

It’s been a Marvel heavy graphic novel session this week but that’s no bad thing. The 3 graphic novels I’ve got through this week are Marvels (Alex Ross & Kurt Busiek), Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe (Cullen Bunn and Dalibor Talajic) and Ms. Marvel – Volume 1: No Normal (G. Willow Wilson and Jacob Wyatt)

Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe

The merc with a mouth gets philosophical in this violent graphic novel and I’m not sure I like it. When I got this novel I expected what I expect from all the Deadpool novels and comics that I’ve read so far. Humour, wackiness, breaking the fourth wall and we get touching’s of all those things but not enough for me. The way they’ve destroyed these beloved characters what a lot harder to take than I expected. They really put the graphic in graphic novel. It’s philosophical take on comic books just began to drain on me and I was honestly glad to finish it.

Marvels

This unique take on superheroes from Marvel really impressed me. It’s from the perspective of a photographer, Phil Sheldon and it really goes into some interesting territory of what it is to be a man and look after your family, in the wake of these supermen but also in general. The novel takes place in the 40s and 60s and the setting is matched by the beautiful art style that really gives the novel this iconic feel. At times I can see similarities with Watchmen but it doesn’t quite hold its own against that literary masterpiece, but still very much worth a read.

Ms. Marvel – Volume 1: No Normal

This is my first exposure to the Ms. Marvel character and it was a great one. I really enjoyed the direction of the character and I felt the race/religion plot points were handled gracefully with a realism that added to Kamala as a character. Though the character was great the overall origin story is familiar territory and the novel doesn’t go in any direction that is unexpected.

What comics have you read this week?

This entry was posted in Comics, Graphic Novels, Novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

