Short Thoughts 3: Trailer Park Boys, Community and Game of Thrones: The Hedge Knight

I’m back with another installment of Short Thoughts, the series of blogs where I talk about things that I can’t be arsed to stretch into full blogs! And with that brilliantly teasing intro, here we go…

Trailer Park Boys

I’ve started watching this series on Netflix and coming into it I really wasn’t expecting much. The low-budget and lack of star names did make me slightly apprehensive. After the first season, I still felt the same. Yes there were a few laughs, interesting if undeveloped characters, but I wasn’t blown away by any means. I was considering bowing out but I thought, first seasons are almost always, never quite the finished article so I gave season 2 a go… And boy was I glad I did. Season 2 really picked up, the show became downright hilarious, brilliant characters like JROC, Bubbles and Randy really came to the forefront. Now I’m 4 seasons in, and it’s still consistently funny, and one of my favourite comedies. I couldn’t recommend it more and with 9 seasons and quite a few movies and specials there’s a lot to sink your teeth into.

Community Season 5

I’m a big Community fan. The show has always been one of the most inventive, ingenious and brilliant comedies out there. But season 5 hasn’t captured my attention. I know there’s been a lot of clambering for another season and a movie to cap it all off, and I’m not overly opposed to that, but if it turns out to be anything like season 5 that I’m not sure I’ll be interested. The loss of Pierce (Chevy Chase) as a character has really been devastating and the addition of Professor Buzz Hickey (Jonathan Banks) hasn’t covered for it. Furthermore Troy (Donald Glover) leaving has really devalued Abed (Danny Pudi) who now seems a little lost and disconnected, whenever on-screen.

I’ll keep with it for the sake of the previous seasons, but this season has struck my love of the series a serious blow.

The Hedge Knight: The Graphic Novel ( A Game of Thrones Prequel)

I really didn’t know what to expect from this graphic novel. The lore of Game of Thrones is always so rich and dense that it must be hard to condense it all into a graphic novel. But The Hedge Knight really does a magnificent job of getting it all in and creating a really compelling story. Duncan and Egg make a great duo and the characters really feel fully formed and represented. Partly that can be attributed to the amount of text included in the novel, this is no light read like a lot of graphic novels can be and you’ll definitely get your value for money from it.

That’s all for this week, thanks for reading and check back again!

This entry was posted in Novels, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

